A Hangover, an Honor and a Picture…….

21 Feb
Ok, I admit it.  I am hung over today.  Hey….. dont judge.  It’s my birthday weekend, and we had a big party at the house.  Upwards of 60 people, lots of booze, a game or two,  and some laughs.  I’m 45 and still can’t hold my liquor, so I’m not sure why hubby and I thought it was a good idea to open the nice bottle of french champagne we’ve been hoarding, until after our guest left.  I’m paying for it now, which is why I was so SURPRISED and HAPPY to see my talented  friend over at one of my favorite sites,   She’s a Maineiac awarding me,  “The Stylish Blogger Award”.   (Before you offer to go shopping with me for my award ceremony dress, let me just say that it’s a cyber award, and one  meant to share the love between bloggers, and spread the word about blogs that make you happy.)  None the less, I am THRILLED, grateful, and excited to be on the receiving end!   Almost enough to knock the hang over out me.

Anywho, the rules are,  I must
1. Disclose some things about myself,  Having recently completed a Mom’s (MOPS) club Q&A, this was easy.
2. Link back the awarding blog, (click above).
3. Share the love  and name 15 blogs I’m into.

So here goes a little Q&A……
  1. How long have you been married and how many children do you have? I have been married twice.  First time was for 7 years (one child, Ryan, age 19) and this time for 9 years (three children, Kristin 17, who I acquired when I married Hubby, Darla, 4, and Delilah, age 2.)
  2. Name one thing most people don’t know about you? English is my second language.  Sarcasm is my first.   Oh wait, you already know that.  Seriously, I lived in a publicly funded NYC housing project from the ages of 6-9.  That’s right, this little slice of white bread lived in “the hood”.  Don’t make me go ghetto on you.
  3. What is your favorite type of cuisine? Any type I did not have to cook!   I love Mediterranean and Middle Eastern  food.  Sahara in Montgomery is my fav.  Now who wants to take me to dinner?
  4. What is your most rewarding memory as a Mom? Two memories I have that I keep dear and recall upon bad or sad days.  One is holding my son’s hand while crossing the street when he was 5 or 6. His palm in mine was so precious. Soft warm, and trusting, At that time I was his whole world, and I knew it!  He was my little side kick, we had our own private jokes and shared sense of humor.   I wish he could have stayed like that forever, but he didn’t.  Now he is a 19-year-old ingrate who wont take my friend request on Facebook because I’m not cool enough for him!  My other special mental snapshot is when Darla was an infant, I was rocking in the chair nursing her, in the first morning hours while the sun was coming up. She looked up at me with eyes so trusting and sweet as if to say “I love you” .   I felt so connected to this tiny little being staring up at me as she suckled.   I try to remember that      whenever she is mouthing off to me or calling me a drunk in public.
  5. At which store could you spend all day alone in? You mean without the kids, right?  Because with the kids in to I only get to do the “5 minute dash”  before someone throws a tantrum or starts a smack down. But without the kids,I could spend hours at a bookstore!
  6. What was the most embarrassing thing you’ve ever done? Crapped my pants in public. No, I wont tell you the whole story, don’t ask.
  7. What type of work did you do before you became a Mom? It’s difficult to remember having had an alternative life where I was actually a successful, contributing member of a corporation, who did not walk around with yogurt in her hair, but I have vague memories of being in sales all my adult life.  Everything from advertising sales, to real estate, to being a regional sales manager at a computer manufacturer.
  8. What do you consider a perfect day? Nothing gets broken, no one cries, I get 20 minutes to write something I’m proud of in my blog,The house is clean, food is served, and friends are over.  Oh yeah, and my butt looks smaller in the jeans I’m wearing.  Beautiful!
  9. Have you ever done anything spontaneous? Pfffttttttt…….when I was pregnant with The Little One I had the bright idea to get a  “John plus Kate” hair cut on a whim. It was a game time decision I made sitting in the chair. It was hideous.
  10. What is your favorite guilty pleasure? Crap TV – Jersey Shore, Real Housewives, etc.  Oh, and looking up old boyfriends on Facebook and sneering at them….…..kidding.  (Sort of.)
  11. If you could meet anyone famous, who would it be? A better person would pick Mother Theresa or Nelson Mandela.       Me?   I would  pick Johny Depp for  a little eye candy.  I don’t give a shite what he has to say, I just want to leer at him.  C’mon, don’t look at me that way…..after all the  boogers I wipe all day long I need a little sumptin sumptin to drool at.
  12. What was your biggest fashion blunder? Too many to count, I’m on fashion police’s most wanted list for sure.  If I had to pick one, I will admit to being 8 inches taller in the late 80’s early 90’s thanks to a teasing comb and a bottle of “Stiff Stuff”   hairspray.
  13. If you could make one wish, what would it be? That I live and am active long enough to see each of my children grow, live, marry and have children.  My biggest fear as an older mom is leaving my young children motherless.
  14. What are you most proud of ?  Coincidently, I just started playing a dinner time game called “I’m proud to be me because________”,  with the girls in order to foster their self-esteem.   As crazy as it sounds, at 45 years of age I had to really THINK how to answer that question, It’s hard to feel pride when you’re sitting around in sweatpants and making crock pot suppers day after day.  After some thought, I discovered that I’m proud of a lot.   No matter what gets thrown at me, I bounce back.  Always.  I’m proud to be an open person, nothing to hide here, anyone can be my friend, no judgement, until you prove otherwise.  As a result, I have some really deep and meaningful friendships from people from all walks of life.  I have a fantastic group of friends and so much love and support. It’s awesome!  I’m proud of my ability to write and make light out of sticky situations.  I’m TRULY shocked and amazed at how well received my attempt at blogging is!  Ever time I get a hit I think to myself  “Wow, someone actually wants to read what I wrote?”  Every hit is a validation, every time someone forwards it, posts it on Facebook, or comments,  I ‘m walking on air . I am also proud of my ability to see things for what they could be, and not for what they appear to be.  I love turning old 5 dollar, crusty, yard sale finds into something cool with a little paint and adornments. It feels so good!

And now for the Blogs whom I award The Stylish Blog Award to:

The Reluctant Mermaid

Not Just Kale

An Enchanted Life

A Tale of Two Timmys

My Parents are Crazier than Yours

Momma Mia, Mea Culpa

Book, Line and Sinker

The Daily Dish

Get Real Chris

Our Note to Self

The Logo Files

Life in the Boomer Lane

Whims

Life As e Know It

Maryann Didriksen, Painter

These are a few of my favs. but I am sure I left out a few , thanks to the  throbbing hangover.

And lastly,….a photo (or two,)…….

Compliments of my dear friend, Betsy Toland, who bought me exactly what I need for my 45th birthday.   Note, it says “Servings: One” on the label:


That’s right…..McVodka!





28 Responses to “A Hangover, an Honor and a Picture…….”

  1. Maryann Didriksen February 21, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Happy Birthday and congratulations on your award! And thank you adding my blog to your list.

  2. lifeintheboomerlane February 21, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Oh my, wow. I’m honored to have made that Stylist Blogger list. And I love this post. I’ll admit, my favorite is #4. To this day, one of my favorite memories was accompanying my youngest child’s Montessori class to a Halloween outing. Micah, age five was in his costume, and I was holding his hand as we crossed the street. I never wanted to let that little hand go. I feel like stealing #2. Sarcasm really is my first language.

    • livelaughloveliquor February 21, 2011 at 9:17 am #

      Steal away! I love sarcasm- my mother in law is not native to the country so it goes right over her head. i know that sounds mean, but if you knew her, you’d understand that sarcasm is my only defense!

  3. Kat February 21, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Do fries come with that award?
    Thank you for the awesome shout-out! And anyone else who reads this comment, I’m giving away a little treat today on my blog… so come on over and tell me what you love.
    You know what I love? Honest, humorous mother-bloggers.

  4. CC February 21, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Happy birthday love 🙂 congratulations on the award it is most deserving xo

  5. ryekatcher February 21, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! I know it sucks to be hungover but I am proud of you. Good to switch things around once in a while. # 11 I am with you on that. Eye candy sounds yummy nowadays. Your daughters have such beautiful names- I love those names. Thank you for putting me on the blog list- I am too new to blogging and so I only know of about 5 blogs. Someday maybe. Congrats on your blog award- you most definitely deserve it. Keep on posting, hangover or not 🙂

    • livelaughloveliquor February 21, 2011 at 10:13 am #

      You keep blogging too! I search freshly pressed every day and genres for blogs to read, I find new ones all the time. Maybe we can keep each other motivated and share what we’ve found? Now go post and brag about the award i just gave you! xoxoxo

  6. Myra February 21, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    You McFucking rule!

  7. rachelwhims February 21, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Oh wow! Happy Birthday, Happy Hangover (you should begin drinking immediately. It’ll help!), and Happy…um…Congratulations for the award! This post is great, too, btw. I thought I was the only shallow person in the world who’d prefer dinner with a handsome man (mine is Robert Downey Jr.) over a getting sound advice from someone like Eleanor Roosevelt! When I get a few minutes (good luck with that, right?!) I’m gonna check out the other blogs you have on your list, but in the meantime, want to thank you for adding Whims to it! When I started blogging, I thought the only person who would read it is my best friend, so it’s nice to see others are interested, too. Thank you, Thank you!!!

  8. She's a Maineiac February 21, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Happy birthday!! Strangely enough, I also had a slight hangover this past weekend. I had ONE gin and tonic…with apparently too much “G”. Sadly, I am way too old to drink the hard stuff anymore. Although that McVodka sounds intriguing…

  9. thedailydish February 21, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    WOOOOT! I am w/ Myra – you totally McRock! I will do my best to live up to the high standard of Stylish Blogger (thankfully i haven’t changed into my PJs yet or started in on the wine)

    Wishing you a very happy birthday!!!! PS: you don’t look a day over 39. XO

  10. Anne February 21, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    Happy Birthday! I turned 45 a week ago (I am still celebrating). Congrats on your award. I too love trash TV.

    • livelaughloveliquor February 22, 2011 at 10:20 am #

      45 is great. i love getting older, to me its a badge of honor- every year you survive!

  11. happykidshappymom February 21, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Congratulations on your award! Sounds like it was well deserved. You are so funny! Sarcasm is your first language… love it.

    • livelaughloveliquor February 22, 2011 at 10:19 am #

      thank you much!Sarcasm is your only defense against some people, right?

  12. The Mommy February 22, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Happy Birthday! LOVE birthday’s (35 and still get excited about mine) Sounds like you had a wonderful time. Spending time with family & friends is never a bad thing… especially with a fancy bottle of champagne.
    Thanks for the adding me to your list.

    11) Ryan Reynolds….YUMMY!

    • livelaughloveliquor February 22, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      Thank you. I agreee- birthdays are always good = consider the alternative!

  13. ournote2self February 22, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Thanks so much for listing us with the Stylish Award! That means a lot to us and we are honored!

  14. chris@getrealchris February 23, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Thanks so much for including me on your list of “stylish” blogs. It means so much to me and it really shows that you have great taste! 🙂

  15. carldagostino February 25, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    Yeah, finding a piece of junk at a yard sale and turning it into something really cool. I done it. Garbage pile great too. Last year found a small roll top desk(which I’ve always wanted). Spent about two weeks restoring and it is the centerpiece of my home.

    • livelaughloveliquor February 25, 2011 at 8:41 am #

      Wow Carl, that is so cool. I enjoy interior decorating in my spare time (snort) and I’ve always wanted a rolltop desk for my daughter’s room. great find! now I’m off to check out your blog!

  16. meleah rebeccah February 27, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    OMG! Your answers to these questions are making me laugh so hard I needed to use my asthmatic inhaler. You are sofa king funny Christine! Congrats on the award. It’s very well deserved. And I’m flattered for the mention. You. Rock.

    • livelaughloveliquor February 27, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

      Thanks, Mel, i really enjoy your blog, and glad you are “back”.

Leave a Reply

