Why I Don’t Feel Bad Rejoicing in Bin Laden’s Death

3 May

There has been a huge social media buzz about Bin Laden’s death.  Twitter, Facebook, it’s all over the web. First it was along the lines of  “Ding-dong the jerk is dead!”  Then it turned into  “We shouldn’t feel good about another human being losing his life.”  While I appreciate the sentiments of the tender souls who feel bad about feeling bad, I’m not one of them.

Bin Laden was the mastermind behind 9/11. An event that hit the NY/NJ/CT area  where I live, very hard. Almost everyone I know either lost someone, or knows someone who did. Everyone I know remembers where they were that day. The people who died on 9/11 were not members of the military who bravely signed on to defend us and knew the risks. They were mothers, fathers, cousins, and children, going about their daily business, doing their jobs to pay their bills. Families were devastated by the losses they suffered. Even those not directly at the twin towers that morning suffered a ripple effect similar to that of the Post traumatic Anxiety one would expect to see in battle.

I as watched the media channels that day, I saw people who had to make the choice of burn to death or leap out a 100 story window. I saw videos that went viral of lovers holding hands as they leapt. There were children in daycare located in the twin towers that day. Can you imagine the fear they must have felt? Can you imagine if that was your child? There were innocent people choking on smoke, trapped in elevators  that free fell 50 or more floors. People wandered about the city in a daze. Innocent people. Mothers cried for their children, wives grieved for their husbands. Police, firefighters lost their lives. Those of us outside of NYC scanned the television looking for faces of loved ones in hopes of catching a glimpse, to know that they were in fact safe from harm. There was pain, and suffering and unbearable loss and after effects. Ditto for everyone who was near or had loved ones in the Pentagon that day. Or who flew on a plane. Even if you were far away, how many of you wondered when and if your city would be next? How many of you yanked your kids out of school that day out of fear of more to come?

It wasn’t just the actual physical loss we suffered that day either. Everything changed after that. The world our children will grow up in is different. It is filled with suspicion. The roar of an airplane flying too low has new meaning to us. We can no longer carry on certain items while traveling, and are subjected to security procedures we never imagined. Small businesses struggled after the attacks. There are “no fly” lists, and heaven help you if you happen to be unfortunate enough to have the same name as someone who has been flagged. And don’t tell me you don’t give the woman dressed in full Muslim garb from head to toe so that only her eyes shows, a second glance. We do. Deny it all you want, but its true. We became suspicious. We lost trust.  Sleeper cells masqueraded themselves in our neighborhoods. We started looking at our neighbors differently, no matter how hard we tried not to, the thoughts were there. We worry about things we never have before. On a personal note, I say an extra prayer every time my oldest child away at college steps foot on a NYC subway. I secretly hope my husband wont take our kids into Madison Square Garden for a hockey game. My first thought after hearing Bin Laden was dead was “Oh Heaven help us, I wonder what they will do to retaliate”.  Our sense of security and peace has been compromised. It wasn’t just friends, mothers, cousins, children, brother, sisters, we lost that day. It was faith in our enemies to play fair. It was the ability to look at our foreign neighbors, fellow passengers on a plane, and shop owners without being a tiny bit wary. There is a clear BEFORE and AFTER  due to the attacks of 9/11

So, regardless of what MLK, Mother Theresa, The Bible, or the many Facebook statuses say, I am happy and relieved about the death of Osama Bin Laden. I wont apologize for it.

Besides, he has his 72 virgins to look forward to. (SNORT!)

Credit: Registered@aol.com

Thanks for reading.

25 Responses to “Why I Don’t Feel Bad Rejoicing in Bin Laden’s Death”

  1. The Logophile May 3, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Wow. That was so well said. That was unbelievable written. You sure you did not take that out of a newspaper? I agree 100% with every word. I am not sure I fully believe the fact that they just killed him now. I have doubts all sorts of things that the gov’t decides to share with us- they know what we want to hear. Either way- rejoice.

    Since then, the whole world changed. I am not sure that anyone could have said that better. Wow.

  2. Lenore Diane May 3, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    “Everything change after that. The world our children will grow up in is different. It is filled with suspicion.” The proverbial nail was hit on the proverbial head.

  3. Diane Conroy May 3, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Amen to that, Christine, I feel the same way as you. And the arrogant SOB still refused to surrender and chose to pull one of his wives in front of him as a human shield. May he have the eternal peace of a slowly rotting soul in the depths of hell. BTW, I’m a friend of Jeanne Gruver and I love reading your blog!

    • livelaughloveliquor May 4, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

      Diane, thank you so much, glad Jeanne shared my blog with you (I love Jeanne- she is so sweet)!

  4. meleah rebeccah May 3, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    AMEN, sister!

  5. Janet May 3, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    It’s comforting to know that the Bin Laden is gone, but not so comforting that there are 1000s more willing to take his place. As a Muslim American, I am thrilled that the USA succeeded in ridding the world of this evil, but too bad that we still have to watch our backs. Such is the world we live in, I guess. As for our children, they are growing up so much more aware of all that is wrong with the world and will have to deal with that as they turn into adults. Hopefully, the hatred against Muslims (in general) won’t peak again as it did right after 911. After all, Christine, you know me and you know that I am as non-radical/calm/insert adjective here as they get! Glad you got your thoughts off your chest. And as for those virgins, I believe they were taken to a place that he won’t be visiting any time soon. By the way, I never heard about virgins…if so, then I hope that Mohammed and I BOTH have something to look forward to in the afterlife 😉

    • livelaughloveliquor May 4, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

      Janet, I’m so glad you weighed in on this- one of my main points here was how Bin Laden’s events on 9/11 clouded the way we think of our Muslim neighbors, and thats so unfair on so many levels!
      I know the 72 virgins is nowhere in the Koran. I believe it was used as a reward to manipulate the Al Quada members into suicide. Someone on my blog’s facebook page had said he hoped the virgins were Catholic Nuns, and I think that would be completely fitting! LOL.

  6. carldagostino May 3, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    When he gets to Islamo heaven George Washington, Thomas Jefferson and R E Lee will be kicking the tar out of him. When he asks where are the virgins, God will say “I meant Virginians”

    • livelaughloveliquor May 4, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

      Carl, see my comment below about the virgins being Catholic Nuns….it would make for a very hilarious cartoon…hint hint 🙂

  7. Misha May 3, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    I agree with you 100%. There is no compensation for the pain and terror felt that day. I mean, I was halfway around the world and 12 and still felt the way I saw the world change.

    He deserved less mercy than he received.

    • livelaughloveliquor May 4, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

      Agreed. He was wanted dead or alive. He chose not to surrender, so he got what he deserved!

  8. Chris Redding May 3, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Brava!
    How short our memories are that we forget what that day was like.
    Thank your for reminding us.
    cmr

  9. thedailydish May 3, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    I will never forget 9/11. Driving home from the post office first thing in the morning, NPR announced the towers had just been hit. I raced home to turn on the TV, and as I watched shock-stricken, called all the people I loved most – my husband, sister, parents, best friend – just to hear their voices and make certain they were okay.

    My parents lived an hour north of Philly on 9/11 and their neighbor lost her husband in the attack. What do you say to someone after that? How could you possibly understand how that one event has changed not just their entire life but world view? I cannot imagine.

    • livelaughloveliquor May 4, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

      It really was awful Christy. I hate even thinking about it. One of my cousins, a MYC firefighter died that day, as did an old friend. The world changed that day.

  10. amblerangel May 3, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    I remember my secretary coming in, telling me the World Trade Center had been hit by what we thought were terrorists, I dropped what I was doing, and started looking for our 30,000 employees who might be on ANY plane currently in the air or sitting on the ground, or in NYC or Washington DC at the time. It was a day filled with pain, sadness and anguish. I came home to confused children, afraid of the world, exposed to images they didn’t understand and shouldn’t have seen. It was a long 48 hours, one I hope never to repeat again. It changed me, it changed the world. Thanks for your post.

    • livelaughloveliquor May 4, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      You’re so right….it changed each of us and the world. Goodbye rose colored glasses, eh?

  11. sabrina May 3, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    Love it and agree 100%

  12. LKay May 3, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    I for one, am cheering in the defeat of a war ciminal. One who was wanted dead or alive. Bin Laden declared war on innocent civilians nearly 10 years ago. Then that coward-terrorist went into hiding. HE declared war on us. We did not ask to be at war with him.

    Yes, he was killed – killed in an act of war. However, even tho he was a war criminal, he was still given the opportunity to surrender – and he chose not to. Again, he CHOSE not to surrender in the war he started. And the difference between US(A) and them is we do not cheer in the killing of innocent civilians – we celebrate in the defeat of our military enemies. A military enemy who declared war on us then went into hiding.

    I salute the USA for ridding us of this war criminal.

    • livelaughloveliquor May 4, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

      Lkay, i could not agree with you more. My thoughts exactly! The Nine Inch Nails song come s to mind “Bow down unto the one you serve, youre going to get what you deserve…”

  13. The Logophile May 6, 2011 at 4:20 am #

    Hey, are you livelaughlove789? If you are, it is a really small world…

  14. Breanna Rist May 16, 2011 at 6:50 am #

    Hello, just hopped over to this site from digg. It is not an article I would normally read, but I loved your thoughts on it. Thanks for creating a blog post worth reading!

Leave a Reply

