What’s Wrong With This Picture?

27 Sep

Can you spot what’s wrong with this picture? This is my favorite reading nook, in our foyer.

How about now? A little closer……..

See it now???? (Hint: It is not the fact that I have decorated for Halloween ridiculously early)

There is no denying it…….

BINGO! Someone got a hold of my lipstick while I was upstairs drying my hair thinking Hubs was watching them. In reality, Hubs was in his basement ‘man cave’ playing guitar thinking I was reigning over the little darlings.  The culprit decided to tickle her taste buds by gnawing on a grotesquely shaded tube of hot pink lipstick I used as a prop for an 80’s theme party we went to.  After artfully applying Avon’s ‘Fuchsia Fun’ lipstick to her tiny visage, she then titillated her palate with it, turning her teeth and gums a lovely shade of magenta.  As if that weren’t fun enough, she then decided to show her love and appreciation for various pieces of furniture by kissing them, leaving tiny pink lip prints in her wake.

I know what you’re thinking: Why didn’t I get a picture of little Miss ‘Pinky Tuskadental’?  Well, I might have thought to do so if temporary insanity had not kicked me in the head, full throttle. At the time, however, I was busy avoiding cardiac arrest and screeching at top volume for Hubs to “Get the hell up here!!!”  Hubs got the dirty job of playing dental hygenist (a 15 minute ordeal of holding a 42 pound kicker down while shoving a toothbrush back and forth in her gaping crying pie hole). While I was busy silently cursing, crying and dancing on the edge  of a nervous breakdown.  Hubs tells me I was walking in circles muttering nonsense in regards to  promising my immortal soul to a pack of heathens if only I could get the lipstick off our (pre-children) cream color down filled sofa, but I have no memory of that.  So sorry folks, no pics of the pink encrusted cavity trap.

One of the very best jewels of wisdom my good friend Robyn Abramo once told me was this:  “Eventually everything is funny in retrospect.” It’s something I carry dear with me whenever I feel like I am getting ready for take off for flying over the cuckoo’s nest. It’s something I remembered when I came down stairs to make breakfast this morning, and found the one lip print left over from this weekend’s Lipstick Lollapalooza. And I have to admit, I laughed. Hope you did too.

As always, thank you for reading!And thank you doubly for those who share my link on facebook, twitter, etc. xoxoxoxo

You can find the answer to the poll HERE

Copyright 2011 Livelaughloveliquor. All Rights Reserved.  No reproduction in any medium without prior written consent of the author is permitted.

28 Responses to “What’s Wrong With This Picture?”

  1. Chase McFadden September 27, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Is there any chance it was your husband?

    • livelaughloveliquor September 27, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

      Chase, he only wears “Cautiously Coral” by Revlon, so I knew immediately it was NOT him. 🙂

      • Tori Nelson September 27, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

        I caught my fiance putting on ridiculous amounts of lip balm. He insists his lips were chapped and got pretty testy when I asked to borrow his lip gloss. I’m thinking I might have to vote for your husband on this one 🙂

      • livelaughloveliquor September 27, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

        LOL Tori, see my reply to Chase!!!

  2. pissykittyslitterbox.com September 27, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    Okay, I probably would’ve been manic over the cream sofa too. Gotta admit though, the lipstick on the table was really cute. I would’ve been tempted to leave it there.
    Just remember, you can always replace the things you own in your home, but these moments that one day you’ll look back on fondly come and go in a flash and are irreplaceable. Never can tell…your kids and their shenanigans may make you rich with a book deal someday. 😉

    • livelaughloveliquor September 27, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

      Pissy, i love the way you think, which is why I adore you. xoxoxo

      • pissykittyslitterbox.com September 28, 2011 at 7:50 am #

        Well thank you, Babe. People like you are the reason I couldn’t stay away and had to come back. 😉

  3. meleah rebeccah September 27, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    The lipstick on the table = adorable.

    The lipstick turning her teeth and gums a lovely shade of magenta = NOT SO MUCH!

    And, Robyn Abramo is right: ”Eventually everything is funny in retrospect.” So even when things seem like they are HORRIBLE, I immediately try and “find the funny”.

    • livelaughloveliquor September 27, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      Thanks Mel. And I know Robyn is so right! I wish i could find the immediate humor in it all though!

  4. Jenée Libby September 27, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    My dog is supersick, at the vet getting an ultrasound. I’m a basket case today. But your blog made me laugh out loud. Thank you so much for that. *Hugs*

    • livelaughloveliquor September 27, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

      Oh Jenee, I am so sorry to hear your pooch is at the vet again. I just said a quick prayer for healing. hugs.

  5. thedailydish September 27, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    I’m guessing the little one, but those 42 pounds could be big girl. Either way, C – you’ve got yer hands FULL. Keep reminding yourself how sad you’ll be when they’re out the door. It’ll temper the stains on the white couch (youch).

    Love ya! XO

    • livelaughloveliquor September 27, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      The white sofa, like all other possessions I own, are getting heaped into a pile and burnt to a crisp the minute the little one enters college. then i start over with clean, free, booger free furniture!

  6. Kim Pugliano September 27, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    O M G I’m laughing now for you since you (obviously) can’t yet. I can’t help it. It’s funny. It’s really funny. Maybe not the couch part, but the rest of it is. Forgive me.

  7. Mona September 27, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    LOVE it! We have “lips” (Olivia’s word for chapstick) on some walls in the living room, my closet, under the bar in the kitchen. I think our darlings would be a riot…and a mess together!

    • livelaughloveliquor September 27, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

      Oh My, a total mess together is right! We will have to find out next summer in OCMD!

  8. She's a Maineiac September 27, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Oh man! Hilarious (sorry!) Julia has “eaten” most of my tube of lipstick once, but failed to leave evidence. I voted for Darla, of course, because, as we all know, all Darlas can’t be trusted. 😉

  9. zomelie September 27, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    Your friend is right. I can now laugh about the infamous green paint incident that left its mark on the carpet (though most of it wound up on the kid’s naked torso). I do wish I had had the sense to laugh along with her as she giggled at the green tinged bath water.

  10. Jill September 28, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Absolutely love it!!! As you may recall, Abby found my lipstick one day and colored herself, her brother, the sofa, the carpet, the chair…. and I laughed and took pictures and cleaned them up. While I was cleaning the furniture in the family, my then 7 year old yells for me to come to the kitchen…. Abby and Zach were re-washing themselves with dish soap by pouring it all over in the kitchen. Yes, everything is funny in retrospect but at the time, I felt like you probably did seeing those beautiful lipsticked kiss marks on your furniture. 🙂

  11. Renee Mason September 28, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    “Pinky Tuskadental”! You crack me up. Same thing happened in our house, but with our Aussie Shepard puppy. After she’d eaten the entire tube of red lipstick, she kindly kissed the white walls and beige carpeting, extensively!

  12. happykidshappymom September 28, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    Love how you took us in for closer and closer views to the little lipstick print! Like a detective. I do agree with an earlier reviewer — it WAS cute — however, you know it would have smudged and then been not so cute. So good idea to take a picture. Then you retain the cuteness, and you can clean your furniture too. And yes, things I never would have imagined would look funny in retrospect, always do. 🙂

  13. Deborah the Closet Monster September 28, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    I wish my dad had adopted your stance when he found me making beautiful lipstick masterpieces on our motel wall right after we moved back to Eugene! 😉

  14. susielindau September 29, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Too funny!! I voted for Darla. She will soon be lifting your favorite clothes out of your closet..Time flies!

  15. elroyjones October 4, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    Since this happened to you and not me, I think it’s adorable. Those little lip prints are precious and I can just imagine one of your little angels floating through the house kissing things and admiring her indelible imprints.

    If it happened at my house the executions would commence forthwith!

  16. amblerangel October 7, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    This reminds me of the time I bit my sister`s big, fat stomach. She was too young to pin the blame on me, however, my Dad took bite imprint marks from the potential perps and determined I was the one who`s teeth matched up nicely to the bite mark.

    We laugh about it now.

  17. sweetridgesisters October 13, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    This is a glimpse of my future. My one and a half year old loves to have a dab of lipstick every time I get it out. I can just see this happening to me soon. -kate

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Lipstick Larcenist Revealed! (an answer to the poll question!) « livelaughloveliquor - September 29, 2011

    […] voted in my poll regarding the “Lipstick Larcenist’”.  (If you missed it, click HERE. ) Sadly, she struck again while seated in a dark movie theater today, fetching my tube of […]

Leave a Reply

