A Year of Blogging: By the Numbers.

19 Jan

As I approached my one year “Blogiversary”  I thought back to the beginning, and all the unknowns I had when starting my blog.

Will people read it?

Will I make myself look like an idiot/mental patient/unfit mother when I put myself out there?

Will I get paid?

How often do I do it?

Will I get writers block?

Will I suck?

So many doubts and fears, I put off blogging for years. I admit I get so caught up in WHAT I am writing I overlook small details like spelling, typos and grammar (In my defense, I am either writing with someone singing  Katy Perry songs directly into my eardrum, or I am writing at 10pm when my brain power is on E-M-P-T-Y.)  It wasn’t until after I got comfortable “putting myself out there” on Facebook, and having many people suggest I “write this stuff down” that I actually grew a pair and tossed my hat into the blogosphere. Once I started blogging, I had so many people say to me ‘I always wanted to do that’ followed by several questions. So in the spirit of arm-chair bloggers everywhere, I decided to answer the most common questions I get regarding blogging, for my one year blogiversary.

HOW DID YOU GET STARTED BLOGGING?

WordPress makes it super simple. A basic blog is free, and there are a ton of choices as far as your design, color scheme, etc goes. You can track your stats, where your hits come from, search engine terms, how many hits, comments etc you get and from where. I pay roughly 12 bucks a year for my own domain name, but you don’t even have to do that.

WHY DID YOU START BLOGGING?

Two main reasons:

1. I am an older mom (45 soon to be 46) I wanted to document my daughter’s childhood should something happen to me.  My biggest fear in life is leaving them motherless.

2.  I love to write and needed to have a reason to feel like I am accomplishing something. I am a stay at home mom, so there is not much tangible I accomplish. Laundry? There is a new pile every day. Dinner? Once cooked, is eaten. Cleaning? Once the house is tidied up, it takes 60 seconds to trash it again. Blogging makes me feel like I have a tangible purpose.

WHAT ABOUT COMMENTS? DO YOU EVER GET NEGATIVE FEEDBACK?

According to WordPress I’ve had 813 comments as of today. Of 813 comments I had two that were negative, both on THIS post. One was from a girl named Shannon, whom I knew from an online infertility support group I had belonged to for 5 years. I had no idea she did not like me, but her comment was really funny. I’ll share it with you, just for sh_ts and giggles:

This is the worst blog entry I have ever read, the first words out of my mouth were “what the hell is wrong with this woman?!?” You and your terrible parenting is the reason that we have shows like Teen Mom and awful girls like Snookie ruling the airwaves.

Why in the world would you encourage your four year old daughter to “strut her stuff” and “put her moves on”? She is not the trouble here, you are.

Here’s a tip your daughter is not going to be the next big star. I am sure you dream at night of her growing up in the footsteps of Lindsey Lohan, partying and being famous. -She won’t, more than likely at this rate with your lack of parenting and strong values she will wind up on a pole, probably addicted to something and trying to make ends meet with all the kids she has to take care of at home. Sorry for the harsh dose of reality but you need to seriously rethink your parenting and turn this around before it is too late.”

I sent Shannon a nice reply to the email address she left me, offering to pay for the surgery to extract the bug out of her rear end, but the email bounced back. Shannon, if you are reading this, the offer still stands.

The other negative comment I got was a similar “I would never raise my daughter that way”.  I suspect from the IP address it was a fang toothed girl I knew in my hometown, but I may be wrong about that.  The other 811 comments I have gotten were great, and I really feel like I have made friends with many other bloggers and readers.

DO YOU GET PAID TO BLOG?

I do not, but I have had offers. I have had several people contact me asking to pay me (via paypal) if I would plug their product, or insert their link in my blog post. It’s a personal decision, but  I want my blog to be fun, a place you can commiserate with me,  laugh at my expense, or even just relive the days when your kids were young. I appreciate my readers and don’t want to inundate them with information on liposuction, online gambling, and the likes. Maybe one day I will write a book and make money but for now, I’m free and easy.

DO YOU ADVERTISE YOUR BLOG?

Nope. I post the link on Facebook. I’m so blessed and lucky to have the best readers in the world who repost and share with their friends. The most popular post was THIS ONE with a surprising 160 people sharing on Facebook. That really blew me away! On average, I get about 120 shares per post. I can not see WHO shared, just how many.

HAVE YOU EVER MADE ‘FRESHLY PRESSED’?

FP is WordPress’es high honor.Tthey share the link to your blog on their homepage, which is totally awesome and allows you to get upwards of 10,000 hits in one day. I have never made FP. I don’t think I am short or sweet enough for them. 🙂 I have, however made the list of “WordPress’es Fastest Growing Blogs”  TWICE in 2011. Once in February, and once in April.

and the big question……..

HOW MANY HITS DO YOU GET TO YOUR BLOG?

I have had close to 25,000 page views on my blog in one year. I post maybe 2 times a month. My most popular post was THIS ONE which has 3,234 views alone.  My busiest day was July 28, where I got 638 page views in one day.

HOW MANY SUBSCRIBERS DO YOU HAVE?

About 160 via WordPress and another 297 follow me on Facebook.

HOW DO OTHER PEOPLE FIND YOUR BLOG?

People have found me through other blogger’s, by forwarding my links via email and Facebook, and of course….search engines. The number one search engine term that caused people to find me (266 times) was “Moms gone wild”. Googling my blog name came in second with 162 views, and “mom jeans” earned me 67 page views. Having a blog has made me realize how many freakish perverts there are googling odd things out in cyberspace.  “Little girls ruffled panties” earned four hits (sickos) and the bizarre “the cockadoodle doo liked pink bananas and chunky boogers” earned 2 views. W….T…..F?  The number one photo that was viewed (163 times) on my blog was THIS one. I’m not sure why, other than perhaps folks wanted to take a good hard gander of my poor Hubs, who faithfully puts up with me.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE POST?

“Two Teens Two Tots……” because I relive it and laugh every time I read it. But I am curious, tell me readers, what was yours? 

WHAT DO YOU LIKE BEST ABOUT BLOGGING? 

I’ve made great friends and connections. I’ve been asked to participate in an ebook. And believe it or not, I have actually been “recognized’ by someone I did not know in Shoprite because of it. (Actually, I think she heard me screaming the girl’s names, and recognized them).

And now for the giveaway! I have this FAB “”Live Laugh Love Liquor” t-shirt up for grabs. It’s a ladies size large, so it is perfect for knocking around braless at walmart, sleeping in (ooo lala, sexy) or lining your birdcage with! How to win it?

1. LIKE me on FACEBOOK. and then…..

2. SHARE MY LINK ON FACEBOOK  See button below or copy the link to your favorite post and share it. Every friend of yours who also “LIKES” me will count as an extra entry. (make sure they write on my wall and tell me that you sent them)

Leave me a comment here letting me know you did so! I will pick the winner by feb. 1, 2011 via random.org

Lastly, I would like to thank you for reading. I know I say this every post, but I really really mean it. I appreciate every one of you (well, maybe not Shannon or snaggle tooth) and feel so grateful for the chance to connect,  share my stories, and hear yours every time you comment or Facebook me. I love you guys and THANK YOU for making me feel like something more than a snot encrusted glorified butt wiper!. xoxoxoxo

27 Responses to “A Year of Blogging: By the Numbers.”

  1. Chris January 19, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    Happy 1 year anniversary!!!! Love you and your blog. Can’t wait to someday buy your book!

  2. susielindau January 19, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    Congratulations! Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Arlee Bird January 19, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    Congratulations on your year of blogging. It sounds like you are doing things the right way. Great analysis.

    Lee
    Have you heard about the A to Z Video Challenge?
    Blogging from A to Z

  4. Marilyn January 19, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    I enjoy reading every blog entry that you publish! Happy 1 year anniversary!!!

  5. Chantelle January 19, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    I felt the same way starting out. put it off too. Wow, shannon has time on her hands, huh? Great post and congrats!

  6. Patty Grebe-Barnish January 19, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    Love your blogging! Two teens & tots is my personal fav! I also have a BIG favor to ask. Could you please blog something asking people to put a blue light outside their home for the month of April-Autism Awareness Month. I understand if you can’t. I loved the video link you sent me about the girl on 20/20. It’s because of that I’m definately going into overdrive promoting the Light It Up Blue campaign by Autism speaks. Our Governor lit the NJ mansion up last year but Our President did not-hopefully this year he will!
    Patty

    • Patty Grebe-Barnish January 19, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

      Out town also lit our tree at the beginning of town blue & declared April Autism Awareness Month, We have the signed declaration in our living room. They did it for Kyle “the little Mayor” as we call him!

  7. The Logophile January 19, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    You did it!!!! One year of blogging, amazing. I just did a year, as well, January 4th, but it did not get a special and perfect post like this. That comment was hysterical. If I knew where she lived and she posted that crap on my wall I would have took my kids and done some deeds on her front porch. Just saying.

    So glad to be part of your blog family. I always wait for your latest and greatest, not-normally-hysterical posts. Keep on blogging…

  8. Neeks January 19, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Congratulations, a whole year of blogging! That’s quite a feat. That lady sounds like public enema number one…or is that public enemy…oh well same difference in this case. Loved the post, and congrats on the year 🙂

  9. She's a Maineiac January 19, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    Congrats to you! I can’t believe you got those negative comments. I’ve had a few myself and it was a pleasure to just throw them into the trash where they belonged. Keep up the blogging!

  10. Sue the Bargain Hunter January 19, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Congrats on your Blogiversary! Thanks for letting us enjoy the ups and downs with you 🙂

    Yeah, while I do shill for a few local daily deal sites (passing along the good deals I see), I can’t bring myself to do the blog-for-payment stuff either. After reading yours though, I’m thinking I may have to start with some sillier posts 😉

  11. Carl D'Agostino January 19, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    How I got started-Some one turned me on to nervousbreakdown blog and I submitted several pieces but could not even merit a “get lost” reply. I started following a few humor blogs and perpetuallypeeved and Amy at Fix It Or Deal allowed me to rag with my own add on humor to their posts. Commenters were commenting on my comments and Amy encouraged me to start my own blog. I owe them for letting me play on their blog. Hey, I’m pretty good. My friend Rick set me up and spent many hours teaching me the basics of manufacturing my stuff and getting it posted. Year and a half later have 170 subscribers and growing. The key is reciprocity and support bloggers that support you. Soon it is not an obligatory thing as we grew to really appreciate each other’s talent and friendships grow. I enjoy when people add their wit and play off my posts. People are attracting an audience as my followers check out their blog from a like or comment and I think that is wonderful. Our niche of the wordpress is becoming loyal family. I really thank Amy at Fix It Or Deal for encouragement as this has become the most delightful part of my day. Hope I don’t get freshly pressed as could not handle 6,000 comments in a week. My second week of blog a publisher started buying my cartoons that I made for his exclusive use. I was then hooked.

  12. Jeannetta Vivere January 20, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    Happy Anniversary !!!!!!!!!!

  13. meleah rebeccah January 20, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    Awwwwwwwwww!! Congratulations on your one year blog anniversary, that’s a huge deal. I am so happy to have found your blog, as I truly enjoy reading your stories. You’re smart, you’re witty, and you’re totally super funny.

    And if that Shannon chick IS reading she can go screw!

  14. thedailydish January 20, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    Happy Birthday – I mean, Blogday!

    So glad to be sharing the cyberspace w/ you, my friend. Your words always make me laugh. And thirsty. LOL

    XOXO

  15. Dana January 21, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Happy anniversary! Those are some very impressive stats for only a year of blogging– congratulations!

    I’m still new to your blog but have enjoyed every post I’ve read so far. I can’t believe you’ve ever gotten negative comments… do people really have *that* much time on their hands?

    Here’s to more success as you enter your second year of blogging! 🙂

  16. zomelie January 24, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Congrats on making it to a year! I’m at the six-month mark, and I am loving it! I read this post when you first published it, and since then, I have received my own negative comment from someone I don’t know, and I was very tempted to steal your response. Why should someone try to spoil the fun like that? Oh well, it’s not going to keep me from continuing to put myself out there, and I’m glad to see you still doing the same. Keep the laughs coming!

  17. happykidshappymom January 25, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Wow — a year! Congratulations! 🙂 Guess we started out at the same time, as today is my one year blog anniversary too. Looking forward to another great year of your posts!

  18. Asturian Diary February 9, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Thanks for the great post and belated happy blogiversary! I just found your site, enticed by the appetizing name. Glad your writing lives up to it!

  19. jeandayfriday February 10, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    You are hilarious! I just stumbled onto your blog today and I love it. Cheers! 🙂

  20. sweetmother February 11, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    congrats and consider me a new reader! and f that ugly-comment lady. she lives in a basement somewhere and survives off a puddle of drain water. she’s terrible. you’re wonderful.

  21. Jeannetta Vivere February 14, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    Happy Blog Anniversary !!!
    Happy Valentines Day !!!!
    Happy everything 🙂

  22. WordsFallFromMyEyes February 20, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    This was great reading – loved it. I identify a lot with what you’ve said, and why you started. It was amazing to me your big fear is leaving your child motherless. My God, if you only knew how close I was to suicide… I felt at the time my son would “get over it because people do, I did when my mum did that” and I knew, in truth, I had not got over it.

    Everything about this was interesting – but most especially your honest answers. I had no idea such a merit comes with a year of blogging. How delightful! 🙂

    I do wonder how much you were offered to put a link on your blog though! You could possibly do it in a way that is not adverse to what you are saying, who you are – if you had a feeling or belief in the product in any way. For instance, I’d never go McDonalds!!

    HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to you 🙂

    N’n.

  23. walkingpapers March 21, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Frist of all, the name of your blog pretty much sums up my life too.. That glass of wine at the end of the day is a sweet reprieve. Secondly, I’m an older mom too–with two little boys who are the loves of my life. Thirdly, I’m a little aghast that anyone would post such a mean comment–no matter what. It’s one thing I have loved about blogging–I have found people to be so nice and supportive. The community, advice, feedback and support that comes pouring in now and again keep me at it, although there have been days when I’ve thought about quitting.. http://walkingpapers.wordpress.com/2012/03/16/just-dont-do-it/ if yo have any interest. And lastly, your header photo just cracked me up. Any mom with a sense of humor like that has to be pretty cool. Keep writing–and I’ll read.
    Best,
    Suzanne

  24. ladyladylike May 1, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Wow, so interesting! I can’t believe that woman you knew said those ridiculous things– I hope she takes you up on your offer. That’s just crazy. Thanks for such an interesting article… I’m going to stay up to date!! 🙂

    P.S. I always love hearing people talk about “Yes, I could clean the house, but it’ll be a wreck in 60 seconds.” So. freakin. true. 🙂 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  25. Jeannetta Vivere October 17, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    had to delete my other one, (long story) new one: http://giannettaj.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

