A Barbie Birthday Party (Photos)

15 Jan

I know, I know, I’ve been MIA.  I have lots to blog about but time runs short, so for now I thought I would share some pics of the girls latest birthday party.

The girls started out using their gift certificate from Aunt Diana to “The Sweet and Sassy Salon”  specializing in little girls and their curls. They got a glittery up-do, nails polished and make up.

Darla getting her nails done

Delilah getting her hair done

Then we came home and decorated. Our theme was vintage Barbie:

We used alot of pink, black and white. I desperately tried to hide the ugly billiard light over the table with pink paper plates.

The tables. This room is actually my hub’s basement “man cave” home theater. Sadly, it has seen more action used as a kid’s party room!

I used decorative packing tape found in a craft store and a hand made label to make pretty hand sanitizer.

Duct Tape (also found in a craft store) around water bottles. (peel off label first)

The favors were “cupcakes in a jar”.  Cut a cup cake in 1/2. Put bottom in jar, pipe icing over, put top in jar, pipe icing. Tie with pink and white bakers twine and a wooden spoon. Simple, cheap and pretty.

A closer shot of the cup cakes. The black and white french scroll table runner is actually wrapping paper.

Instead of a birthday cake, I made cupcakes. Less mess and no utensils required, thus assuring no one stabs each other with a fork or something.  I bought the Barbie head cut outs HERE and then glued them to punched out card stock (punches avail. in craft store) I inverted champagne glasses to make a fancy stand.

Barbie head cut outs placed on dollar store plates. Looks like a million bucks, but was cheap!

Balloons found at local party store.

I used a cupcake paper to top a balloon and hang from ceiling.

The sign, using stick on letters, decorative packing tape  and cut outs.

Our guest finally came! Let the good times roll!

And so did the FUNBUS!

On the bus with their BFFs.

Sister love. (for a change)

After an hour of jumping around and going nuts in the bus, it was time to eat!

And twirl

And mug for the camera

Delilah loves Justina but for some reason she kept putting her hand out.

Nom nom nom…..pizza!

Singing happy Birthday!

Myself and Delilah. I look like a fat albino chipmunk, but what the hell do you want from me, I pulled this party off in under 2 weeks.

Afterwards, they went upstairs into their fun-room to play and burn off the sugar. I’m happy to report I waited until then to have my 1st glass of wine….I’m such a good mom:-)

more fun-room fun.

The Party is over! I survived and they had fun. Now for the mess……

Thanks for looking!

COMING SOON: My 1 year blogaversary is coming up and I will write all about it later this week and have a little giveaway. I also am working on a ‘real’ blog entry about our trip to FLA. and hub’s experience on the plane with the 2 girls in tow.

27 Responses to “A Barbie Birthday Party (Photos)”

  1. Dana January 15, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    Wow– you did a great job with the decorations! Vintage Barbie is so much cooler than modern-day Barbie, too. The plates are my favourite…. oh, who am I kidding? I could totally eat twelve cupcakes in jars. 🙂

  2. Barbara Rieger January 15, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    Darla and Delilah are as beautiful as their mother Christine!

    Christine,
    Thank you for sharing these delightful photos. Christine It was such a pleasure to see all of your creative decorating. It appeared that everyone had a fun afternoon.
    You put a lot of thought, energy and work into the party. Your love for them had to be your biggest motivator! You must have planned on having them born in the same month! LOL

  3. The Logophile January 16, 2012 at 4:18 am #

    WELCOME BACK!!!! They have the same birthday? That is awesome to double the party. Love the last kissing picture, all the others=amazing!!! You did a fabulous job on planning the party.Do you do party planning? You should. You all look great. Stuff was adorable. Can’t wait to hear more…

    • livelaughloveliquor January 17, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

      Thanks so much. I have been so low-pro lately, its good to “see” you. They are 6 days and 2 years apart, so for now a combo party is the ticket!

  4. Jill January 16, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    All I can say is Wow!!! You did an amazing job! I am not nearly as creative and clever as you! Everything looked beautiful– including you and your darling girls!

    • livelaughloveliquor January 17, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

      Jill, I am not that clever, trust me. I just needed the distraction, and it kept me busy!

  5. elroyjones January 16, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    Beautiful little princesses, who obviously take after their mommy!

  6. shari January 16, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    Wow! That’s so creative! Our very own Martha Stewart’s Kids’ party book on line!!! Looks like the girls really enjoyed it too!! Way to go!

  7. Jim January 16, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    A grand celebration….. So fitting for such beautiful princesses…. Well done Christine.!! And a very happy birthday to the little ladies. !!!

  8. Annette Ferrazzano Henderson January 16, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    LOVE all the ideas…the water bottles are cute and easy. The cupcakes favors look really cute too. BRAVO!!!

  9. Renee Mason January 16, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    Those girls are absolutely adorable. No fair about the decorations; they were nicer than my wedding!

  10. meleah rebeccah January 16, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    Damn woman, you did an awesomely amazing job with this party! Kudos to you, my friend!

  11. Kahla January 16, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

    Love it, that’s my kind of party!!

    • livelaughloveliquor January 17, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

      I can titally see you doing it for the princess, Kahla, but you’d have an awesome hand sewn tutu as well!

  12. Dolly B. January 17, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Wow, what a beautiful party you put together for your girls. Just so beautiful. Your such an amazing and wonderful mother. You can see the love in all the little details. Hmmm…looks like you have another talent besides being a terrific writer. You can have another career in children’s party planning and decorating. Just BEAUTIFUL!!!

  13. Tori Nelson January 17, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    I’m pretty sure I’m twenty years past my prime, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t totally want to recreate this party for myself. Sassy and retro and full of sweet 🙂

    • livelaughloveliquor January 17, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

      LOL, Tori, if you decide to go for it, I can send you some the decorations I have left!

Leave a comment